13 Tigers honored for National Art Honor Society


Left-to-right: (Row 1) Taylor Hedges, Zoey Ferguson, Aubrey Smith, Addison Lowe, Deja Duboe (Row 2) Brooklyn Sheets, Emily Cooper, Savannah Good, Shannon Smith, and Philipp Barth (Row 3) Abigail Dengler, Mearan “Buzz” Bahney, and Matthew Colburn

Circleville High School – Monday afternoon the Circleville High School Chapter of the National Art Honor Society (NAHS) inducted 13 new members into its prestigious ranks.

New members Aubrey Smith, Mearen “Buzz” Bahney, Taylor Hedges, Emily Cooper, Brooklyn Sheets, Deja Duboe, Abigail Dengler, Addison Lowe, Matthew Colburn, Zoey Ferguson, Shannon Smith, Philipp Barth, and Savannah Good represented the 2019-2020 Class of NAHS inductees.

The National Art Honor Society was started in 1978 by the National Art Education Association for students in grades 9-12. The intent of the society lies within helping students attain their highest potential in all forms of art and to raise awareness for art education in the school and community.

Monday’s ceremony was overseen by NAHS student officers Krista Szymczak (president), Anna Whitaker (vice-president), Tasha Rice (Treasurer), Jaycee Fullen (secretary), and Gabrielle Ortiz (historian). Each officer spoke to NAHS core values of leadership, character, acceptance, initiative, and service as a part of the induction ceremony.

The 9-12 art program is overseen by Mrs. Sonseara Grady, currently in her third year with the high school program at Circleville High School.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.